9 thoughts on “CSBF Vol. 16: I’m Tired of Being a Strong, Independent, Black Woman

  1. *slow clap*

    i need to fly to where you live and just hug you. i was just thinking this the other day!!!! honestly….even though i’m married…he’s gone training for a new job out of state. but…even more honestly? i’ve been lonely for a long time.

    i would L.O.V.E. to have those same types of problems…”oh damn…he bought me wrong pair of christian louboutin’s…oh well. i’ll just wear my manolo blahnik’s today!”

    *sigh*

  2. Let me tell you that I have had the same realization in the last few months. I was trying to do everything – wife, mother, graduate student, part time intern, full time employee, small business owner, blogger – too much. I literally had to quit my job to find time to sleep. You are so right – being raised by a SIBW is a blessing and a curse.

    I blogged about quitting my job “I Quit & I Ain’t You or I Took Off My Cape” http://convertingaspendthrift.blogspot.com/2011/04/updates-on-me-i-quit-i-aint-you-or-i.html

  3. I feel you like you just read everything in my mind. Damn, I am so tried of doing everything by myself!!!! As an only child I did everything by myself and the damn interdependency continues into adulthood. I am ready for something different.

  4. Well, I stumbled on this blog by accident, except it’s Sunday and I don’t think it was an accident. I am one of those women that you might like to change places with and I guess I would like to change places with you, except for the struggling part and being alone part. I have lived in Chicago, NY, Maryland, and Charlotte since I got married 29 years ago. I have 3 kids, pretty much grown and all college educated. I went to college and had dreams of having my own “something” but I got married, had children and moved around… alot for my husband’s career. I raised my kids, decorated nice homes, supported my husband’s career, etc. I gave up my career early on because of the constant moving, and because I could afford to stay home and raise my children. Unfortunately, I never thought about what happens after the kids are gone and what happens when you are so busy helping everyone else, what you do with your life. I am blessed and grateful to God that I have never had to struggle like others, but I have made sacrifices and now I am empty and resentful. I am working to build my “own” business and life and I’m still married–for now– but I envy women that can stand on their own and are free to do as they please, whenever they please. I suppose everyone else’s grass looks greener?

Leave a Reply

