30 Day Writing Challenge: My Earliest Memory

This one is hard. Because I have memories, but they are vague and I have no context for them. I will instead share the best memory I have of my dad.

image

When I was staying in Tucson for the summer around age 9, I was bored out of my mind. The library was closed, I’d read all my books and there was nothing to watch on TV. I started going through my dad’s tape collection (yes I’m old) and found a single of Casanova by LeVert.

I was super shocked that he even had the tape, even though it was like 1-3 years old. I put the tape in, and said “Dad come dance with me!” We danced for like an hour, to that one song. My dad smiled, and laughed, and I felt so happy to have that moment with him.

Whenever I hear that song on the radio, I smile and remember that brief moment in time that my Dad and I were on the same page!

Leave a Reply

