A Book Series I Love: The Black Dagger Brotherhood

image

Here’s the Thing.  The reason I fell in love with this series, was because it provided everything I needed after I moved back to Michigan.  I needed something to think about, so I could stop dwelling on my life and what not.  Thankfully, I joined this great Facebook group, and someone in the group gave me access to all the books.  Let me just share some need to know things . . .

1) These aren’t your average Vampires. 
They are WARRIORS. They have an actually enemy, The Lessers, who don’t die.  They just get recycled back into the main bad guys – The Omega – bloodstream.  Sound Complicated? It so IS. And that’s what I love about it.  It’s a complete world.  Its not just Vampires hiding from humans, its told in real time, and they live in the Boston Metro Area.  Yaaaaaas for the Accents. They have their own slang, and if you spend enough time reading, you will start to talk like them.  Okay, maybe that’s just me. Either way, it’s a really good series to read and fully immerse yourself into.

2) Vishous is #Bae
Every single on of these Vampires is Sexy in their own way.  You will have a favorite, or several favorites.  V is my favorite because . . . Dominant.  All the Kinky Sex.  Him and Butch – Human turned Vampire – have this beautiful sexual tension.  I’m still waiting for something to pop off.  Like a foursome with them and their wives – Shellans – Or just a whole chapter of someone’s Wet Dream.  Speaking of sex . . . It’s SO GOOD in this series.  Very Primal, nothing pretty and cutesy about it. Even the characters that have sexual hang-ups, still have all the good sex. 

3) Each Brother has their own Story
The Best Part of the Series, is you can choose who you read about.  I highly recommend reading all of them in order, tho.  You will become invested easier that way.  You will also get the back story of the Vampire Society as a whole, as well as the fight against The Omega and the Lesser Society.  So far, there are 13 books, plus an off-shoot that JUST came out about their training academy.  Each book is anywhere from 300 – 780 pages, so even if you are a fast reader like me, it might take you an entire day to read some of the books. But it’s totally worth it.

4) It’s kind of a really Big Deal
There are BDB groups all over the place.  There are all over FB.  The Author, J. R. Ward, won’t turn the series into a movie.  But people have been guessing for years what each of the Brother’s looks like.  Some people are stupid, and try to make the Shadows – The Two Black People – white, but even J.R. has called them stupid for that.  Below, I have posted a graphic of who I think would play them in a movie.  Personally, I would like to see a NetFlix Series about them.  Like each book gets 2.5 hours, then they just do another season that has the every day adventures of the Brotherhood.  So J. R., if you read this, you heard it here first.

image

Enjoy The Series! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

